Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Share on Facebook 5 Share on Twitter 2 Share on LinkedIn Share on Reddit Tell A Friend Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite View Favorites
OpEdNews Op Eds

If You Liked the Iraq War, You'll Love the Iran War

By       Message Thom Hartmann       (Page 1 of 3 pages)     Permalink    (# of views)   6 comments

Related Topic(s): ; ; ; ; , Add Tags
Add to My Group(s)

Must Read 6   Valuable 4   Well Said 3  
View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com Headlined to H1 8/8/15

Author 1486
Become a Fan
  (131 fans)
- Advertisement -

Reprinted from Smirking Chimp

From flickr.com/photos/47422005@N04/8030669230/: Bibi Shows Cartoon of Mass Destruction to UN
Bibi Shows Cartoon of Mass Destruction to UN
(Image by DonkeyHotey)
  Permission   Details   DMCA

If you liked the war in Iraq, you probably love the idea of going to war with Iran.

Why?

- Advertisement -

It's the same agenda from the exact same people who took us into Iraq just over a decade ago.

The hawks on the right keep crying that we need a "better deal."

They say that this deal will help Iran to support terrorism in the Middle East - and that ultimately this will enable Iran as a regional power and destabilize the region.

- Advertisement -

And even if Iran doesn't get a nuclear weapon -- the right wing is ready to whip up any sort of weaponized boogieman to sell their case.

This time it's "Electromagnetic Pulse" weaponry, or EMP weapons, that the warhawks in Congress want you to be scared of. If you're not already scared of the nuclear bomb.

But in 2002 and 2003 -- it was a simpler time -- it was just months after 9/11 and Americans were primed to be scared and ready to go to war just to feel safe.

All the administration had to talk about then were some vague -- and non-existent -- "weapons of mass destruction" in Iraq.

And they were even parroting the same arguments for war.

Take a look at Netanyahu testifying to Congress in 2002 about why the United States needs to invade Iraq.

- Advertisement -

Riiiiight. So Iraq and Iran were sponsoring terrorism -- weren't listening to the international community -- and both were hotbeds of anti-US sentiments.

And as you saw at the end of that clip -- even back in 2002 -- Netanyahu and the war zealots on the right in the country were stoking the same vague, but visceral, fears about both Iraq and Iran.

But George W. Bush and his administration found an easier way to stoke vague and visceral fears.

Remember when they declared that Iraq and Iran make up two-thirds of the so-called "Axis of Evil."

Next Page  1  |  2  |  3

 

- Advertisement -

Must Read 6   Valuable 4   Well Said 3  
View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com

Thom Hartmann is a Project Censored Award-winning New York Times best-selling author, and host of a nationally syndicated daily progressive talk program on the Air America Radio Network, live noon-3 PM ET. www.thomhartmann.com His most recent books are "The Last Hours of Ancient Sunlight," "Unequal Protection: The Rise of Corporate Dominance and the Theft of Human Rights," "We The People," "What Would Jefferson Do?," "Screwed: The Undeclared War (more...)
 

Thom Hartmann Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

Please Donate

STAY IN THE KNOW
If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
Name
Email
   (Opens new browser window)
 

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

S&P Blames Republicans, Mainstream Media Fails to Report It

Globalization Is Killing The Globe: Return to Local Economies

The Great Tax Con Job

The Uncanny, Frightening Ways That Trump's America Mirrors Hitler's Germany

The Truth about the Trust Fund-- Destroying Social Security to Destroy the Two Party System

The Deciding Moment: The Theft of Human Right