Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Poll Analyses
Share on Facebook 7 Share on Twitter 2 Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
OpEdNews Op Eds    H1'ed 8/8/15

If You Liked the Iraq War, You'll Love the Iran War

By       (Page 2 of 3 pages) Become a premium member to see this article and all articles as one long page. (View How Many People Read This)   6 comments
Author 1486
Message Thom Hartmann
Become a Fan
  (135 fans)

During Netanyahu's testimony on invading Iraq back in 2002 -- he claimed that it's not a matter of IF there needed to be a regime change in Iraq and Iran.

But for Bibi and Bush, it was only a question of WHEN and HOW that regime would change.

And what great things were we supposed to expect to happen when we invaded Iraq and toppled Saddam?

According to Bibi in 2002 -- we would see vague and immediate good things - including a natural change in regime in Iran.

The thing is: We listened to him then.

We invaded Iraq. The regime changed. We didn't find any weapons of mass destruction.

And there was no sudden eruption of democratic regime changes. And there was no movement towards peace in the region.

What did happen?

Well, for one thing, many of the Ba'ath party members that we ousted during the invasion -- they became what we know now as ISIS in the wake of a destabilized Iraq.

Bibi and the Bush administration and the Republican establishment were all completely wrong about Iraq.

Does that really mean we should ignore their frightened screams about Iran?

Yes -- because they're singing the exact same tune as before.

And the fevered pitch of this song is just as out of tune with reality as ever before.

Iran isn't a rogue nation.

If Iran truly disregarded international law and the international community - like the war hawks scream that they do -- they wouldn't have approached the negotiating table to begin with.

Keep in mind that this isn't a deal between the US and Iran -- this is a binding international agreement negotiated between six countries, ratified by the United Nations, and supported by the strictest inspection regime ever devised.

Next Page  1  |  2  |  3

 

Must Read 6   Valuable 4   Well Said 3  
Rate It | View Ratings

Thom Hartmann Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

Thom Hartmann is a Project Censored Award-winning New York Times best-selling author, and host of a nationally syndicated daily progressive talk program on the Air America Radio Network, live noon-3 PM ET. www.thomhartmann.com His most recent books are "The Last Hours of Ancient Sunlight," "Unequal Protection: The Rise of Corporate Dominance and the Theft of Human Rights," "We The People," "What Would Jefferson Do?," "Screwed: The Undeclared War Against the Middle (more...)
 

Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

STAY IN THE KNOW
If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
Name
Email
   (Opens new browser window)
 

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

S&P Blames Republicans, Mainstream Media Fails to Report It

Globalization Is Killing The Globe: Return to Local Economies

The Great Tax Con Job

The Uncanny, Frightening Ways That Trump's America Mirrors Hitler's Germany

The Truth about the Trust Fund-- Destroying Social Security to Destroy the Two Party System

The Deciding Moment: The Theft of Human Right

To View Comments or Join the Conversation: