Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Share on Facebook 8 Share on Twitter Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
Exclusive to OpEdNews:
OpEdNews Op Eds   

Toward a provisional, populist and nonpartisan Uni-tea ("Unity") Party

By       (Page 1 of 1 pages)     (# of views)   No comments
Author 6322
Message Jim Arnold
Become a Fan
  (27 fans)
In the aftershock of the Supreme Court ruling allowing unlimited corporate money-speech, we are very likely in a down-spiral toward corporate tyranny. By the time the votes are counted, or flipped by the corporate voting machines this November, our already decrepit democracy may have become irreversibly incorporeal.

But there is a solution that could mobilize popular support from the left, right, and center, counter what will doubtless be a downpour of corporate misinformation, and elect effective representatives of our interests.

If 1) a Uni-tea ("Unity") party demands that candidates of all parties pledge their support of core populist and non-partisan objectives; 2) identifies candidates who refuse to do so as unfit to serve the public interests; and 3) where there are no fit candidates, nominates alternative candidates who pledge, in addition to support the Uni-tea core principles, to abstain from voting on a list of partisan issues in his/her first term, thereby allowing both maximum popular support and minimal popular opposition - we may be able to rescue our system of governance.

Core objectives might include:

1. A Constitutional Amendment declaring that corporations are not persons.

2. The break up of corporations that are considered too big to fail, and of media monopolies of the press and public airwaves.

3. Re-regulation of financial and insurance institutions.

4. Imposition of taxes and penalties on corporations that ship factories and jobs overseas.

5. Introduction of reciprocal tariffs on imports from countries that maintain tariffs on our exports and/or keep their prices low by reduced labor and environmental standards ("fair trade", not "free trade").

6. Elimination of foreign tax havens.

7. Public campaign financing funded by a small income surtax.

8. A gradual reduction in the minimum age for the option to join Medicare, and no restriction on Medicare in negotiating drug prices.

9. Revocation of tax cuts on the super-wealthy.

In order to secure populist, non-partisan support and make long-term political objectives possible, the following negative short-term pledges seem crucial:

For the first term in office: The candidate pledges to abstain from voting on partisan social issues such as abortion, gay marriage, gun control, and illegal immigration.

Politics is said to be the art of compromise. Specifically populist politics might be described as the art of limited and strategic compromise putting essential and achievable goals first. Our nation has reached a juncture where the development of a populist political art is our most urgent priority. Let's come together as artists, across the political spectrum.

 

Rate It | View Ratings

Jim Arnold Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.



Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

STAY IN THE KNOW
If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
Name
Email
   (Opens new browser window)
 

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy