Power of Story Send a Tweet        

Share on Google Plus Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on PInterest Share on Fark! Share on Reddit Share on StumbleUpon Tell A Friend 7 (7 Shares)  

Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite View Favorites (# of views)   5 comments
Exclusive to OpEdNews:
Life Arts

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

By       Message Jim Arnold       (Page 1 of 4 pages)     Permalink

Related Topic(s): ; ; ; ; ; ; ; , Add Tags  Add to My Group(s)

Interesting 1  
View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com Headlined to H4 6/1/10

Author 6322
Become a Fan
  (27 fans)
- Advertisement -

SPARTAN WOMEN:

History's greatest conspiracy?

- Advertisement -

Almost everyone has heard about the men of ancient Sparta: fearsome warriors who devoted their lives to fighting, training for fighting, talking about fighting, and talking about training. What is rarely considered or discussed, but arguably much more interesting, is the contemporary sub-culture of the Spartan women.

- Advertisement -

Spartan women enjoyed a freedom far above the status of other women in the ancient world. At a time when others were being subjugated into virtual slavery by the patriarchal revolution, Spartan women enjoyed remarkable privilege and liberty, including the right to own property and have a voice in choosing their husbands. As children they were educated and well-fed, just like the Spartan boys, but unlike girls elsewhere. To other Greeks they were notorious for their assertiveness, and their power and influence over the men. Most fascinating of all, being freed from labor by the exploitation of slaves, they spent their days and nights engaged in athletics, song, dance, equitation, and celebration.

The source of the women's unique status is generally attributed to a legendary king named Lycurgus, who is said to have given them their freedom as part of a radical reform of Spartan society.

But when and where has anyone been given their freedom? When has the ingenuity and advantage of sharing freedom and power been clear enough to make it advisable, much less tolerable, to those with the freedom and power to share?

There is scant historical evidence to either confirm or refute the legendary explanation of the women's freedom, just the reporting of several non-Spartan men. The Spartans themselves were extremely exclusive and discreet about their society - except of course in the promulgation of their martial prowess.

But just by the measure of plausibility, the accepted story of the benevolent king doesn't stand well. I believe it's much more likely that Spartan women achieved and maintained their freedom by a cunning conspiracy. Having become aware of the wave of repression against women occuring all around them, and intensifying in Sparta too, they must have contrived to say something like this to the men: "You love your manhood? You value roughness and toughness above all else? You love to fight? Then go! Go off and fight! Go live together, all you men, and be the manliest men you can possibly be! We will celebrate your victories, and glorify your deaths! Just [under their breath] leave us alone...." And so, with the men either preoccupied or absent, the women were able to diverge themselves into a private sub-culture devoted to athletics and revelry - and, we might suppose, to each other.

- Advertisement -

The Evidence and the Opining

Next Page  1  |  2  |  3  |  4

 

- Advertisement -

Interesting 1  
View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.



Share on Google Plus Submit to Twitter Add this Page to Facebook! Share on LinkedIn Pin It! Add this Page to Fark! Submit to Reddit Submit to Stumble Upon Share Author on Social Media   Go To Commenting

The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
- Advertisement -

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy