Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Poll Analyses
Share on Facebook 69 Share on Twitter Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
Exclusive to OpEdNews:
Sci Tech   

Relativity Visualized

Author 6322
Message Jim Arnold
Become a Fan
  (26 fans)

Special Relativity and some of the strange features of light are presented in a converted slideshow in a simple graphic format, an alternative to the Minkowski diagram.

The most counter-intuitive features of Special Relativity are explained:

* How the "world-lines" of bodies in uniform motion have the same length in spacetime while moving at relatively different rates in time

* That bodies in relative motion have different orientations in space as well as time

* How observers with relative motion between them will each observe the other to be moving more slowly in time

* Why the speed of light is the absolute limit of speed

* That light is a constant, and for any observer, the speed of light is ~300,000 km/sec (or ~186,000 mi/sec), because in the continuum of spacetime, the distance it is observed to cover in space is equal in length to one second in time


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA


(Image by James Arnold)   Details   DMCA

 

Inspiring 1  
Rate It | View Ratings

Jim Arnold Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.



Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

STAY IN THE KNOW
If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
Name
Email
   (Opens new browser window)
 

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy

To View Comments or Join the Conversation: