Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Share on Facebook 1 Share on Twitter Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
OpEdNews Op Eds   

Conflicts of interests

By       (Page 1 of 1 pages)     (# of views)   No comments
Author 6322
Message Jim Arnold
Become a Fan
  (27 fans)
- Advertisement -

The Democrats are pursuing a people-based strategy of fund-raising by refusing donations from lobbyists and PACs while pursuing a corporate-based strategy of Congressional voting and Presidential campaign jockeying. It's boundless: The chronic stupidity of a party leadership conflicted by soft, liberal intentions and hard, conservative (wealth and power) interests.

The American people, those sufficiently clear-headed and informed to understand their own interests, are forced into a conflict of impulses by the ambivalence of their political leaders. Vote third-party or not vote at all, and risk a grosser of two evils? Continue to support a party that's going nowhere out of fear of a party that's taking us down?

I've decided on my course: I'm going to follow my stomach, and refuse any further donations or volunteering to any but stalwart progressive candidates "" most definitely not to the national congressional or presidential campaigns "" until the Leadership really wows me. I hope they can, somehow. But it's hard to imagine. Impeachment hearings? Protecting and defending the Constitution? Concrete action to prevent an attack on Iran? A truly progressive campaign strategy by Obama? I can wait, I can sit on my wallet.

I'll vote Democratic in November in any case, but someone in the Lofty Leadership is going to have to work a little harder, and give a little more, to pick up my slack.

- Advertisement -

 

- Advertisement -

Rate It | View Ratings

Jim Arnold Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.



Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

STAY IN THE KNOW
If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
Name
Email
   (Opens new browser window)
 

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy