Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Poll Analyses
Share on Facebook 31 Share on Twitter Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
Exclusive to OpEdNews:
OpEdNews Op Eds    H3'ed 4/9/14

We need to organize -- NOW!

By       (Page 2 of 2 pages) Become a premium member to see this article and all articles as one long page. (View How Many People Read This)   8 comments
Author 6322
Message Jim Arnold
Become a Fan
  (26 fans)

At minimum, even if it collapses in failure, it can be a worthwhile experience, an exercise in political interaction, empowerment, and leadership.

Let's try it. Let's do it NOW.

Here's my proposal: anyone interested in getting involved in building an inter-personal, close-knit democratic organization can contact me at OpEdNews on my profile page, or comment in response to this article. 

Give me your name, email address, county, state, and zip code, and I'll organize everyone into groups by proximity, and put everyone in each group in contact. (If you feel that giving me that information is objectionable, suggest an alternative person or organization to handle the initial organizing.)

Once group representatives are chosen, the entire membership list can be turned over to whomever they authorize as custodians.

Why not just do it?

Democracy is about free, creative, contributing people -- not leaders, and not followers. For the experience of being a significant member of a democratic group, for the experience of being a coordinator and/or representative, maybe for the experience of building a movement, let's give it a try.

These times are desperate. We've got to get together, we've got to interconnect, we've got to organize -- NOW!

Next Page  1  |  2

(Note: You can view every article as one long page if you sign up as an Advocate Member, or higher).

 

Must Read 1   Well Said 1   Valuable 1  
Rate It | View Ratings

Jim Arnold Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.



Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

STAY IN THE KNOW
If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
Name
Email
   (Opens new browser window)
 

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy

To View Comments or Join the Conversation: