Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Share on Facebook 4 Share on Twitter Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
OpEdNews Op Eds    H3'ed 5/22/10


By Government Accountability Project  Posted by James Murtagh (about the submitter)   No comments

The Government Accountability Project & Make It Safe CoalitionPresent:


Join the whistleblower community on May 24th and 25th for an intensive conference on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. Co-Sponsors of this year's Assembly include the National Treasury Employees Union, Project On Government Oversight, the American Federation of Government Employees, Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association, and Semmelweis Society International. Donors include the Employment Law Group, Katz, Marshall & Banks, and Taylor & Associates, Ltd/Truckers Justice Center, and Dr. James Murtagh. Entitled "The Final Countdown: Honoring 10 Years of Commitment," this year's conference will act as a collective final push to get the Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act (S 372), out of Congress and adopted into law.

The Conference Will Feature: A morning plenary session with our congressional allies, theme-based workshops led by prominent whistleblowers and good government organizations, a national security panel with star whistleblowers in the industry, street law update informational sessions, a meet and greet with the new appointees to the MSPB, OSHA, and ARB, and lobby training and intensive lobbying appointments with congressional offices.

Monday - May 24, 2010

Plenary Session (9:00am-10:30am)

Capitol Visitor's Center (CVC), Congressional Auditorium

Keynote Speaker: Frank Serpico, Retired NYPD Whistleblower Introduction by Tom Devine Legal Director, Government Accountability Project (GAP) Message from White House: Norm Eisen, Counsel for Ethics and Government Reform Introduction by Danielle Brian Executive Director, Project on Government Oversight (POGO) Message from Congress: Representative Christopher Van Hollen

Introduction by Mark Cohen Executive Director, GAP

Message from Congress: Lisa Powell Staff Director, Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Introduction by: Charity Wilson Legislative Representative, American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) Overview of the Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act:

Tom Devine Legal Director, GAP

Michael German - National Security Counsel, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), former FBI whistleblower

Panels/Workshops (11:00am-12:15pm)

Rayburn House Office Building, CVC Congressional Auditorium, Stewart R. Mott House

Air Safety (Rayburn HOB Room 2203)FAA Whistleblowers Alliance Media Training (Rayburn HOB Room 2247)Project On Government Oversight Changing Corporate Behavior;Are We Effectively Using Whistleblower Laws?(CVC: Congressional Auditorium) Voices for Corporate Responsibility Federal Bureau of Investigation Whistleblower Panel (Rayburn HOB Room 2154)National Whistleblower Center Medical Whistleblower Workshop (Stewart R. Mott House)Semmelweis Society International in conjunction with International Association of Whistleblowers Office of Special Counsel Workshop (Stewart R. Mott House)OSC Watch

Know Your Rights (12:30pm-1:30pm)

Capitol Visitor's Center, Congressional Auditorium

Street Law Sessions for New Whistleblower Rights and Current Legislation

Angela Canterbury Director of Public Policy, POGO

Tom Devine Legal Director, GAP

Jason Zuckerman Employment Law Attorney, the Employment Law Group

Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association - National Security Luncheon (2:00pm-4:00pm)

Stewart R. Mott House

(Catering Provided by: Green Plate Catering)

Awards: Jack Spadaro, Mine Safety and Health Administration Whistleblower, Lifetime Achievement

Presented by: Celia Wexler Washington Representative, Union of Concerned Scientists

Daniel Meyer, DoD OIG Director of Civilian Reprisal Investigations, Public Servant Award

Presented By: Jeff Ruch Executive Director, Public Employees for Environmental Responsibility (PEER)

Bradley Birkenfeld, UBS Swiss Bank Whistleblower Accepted by Doug Birkenfeld

Presented By: Jesselyn Radack Homeland Security Director, GAP

National Security Panel

Panelists: Franz Gayl, DoD Civilian Science and Technology Advisor

Michael German, National Security Counsel, ACLU, former FBI whistleblower

Robert MacLean, Former Federal Air Marshal

Coleen Rowley, former FBI and 9/11 whistleblower

Jesselyn Radack, former DoJ Ethics Lawyer

George Sarris, U.S. Air Force Mechanic

Chair: Chris Schoppmeyer, Vice President, Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association (FLEOA)

Lobby Training with the Center for Lobbying in the Public Interest (4:00pm-5:00pm)

Stewart R. Mott House

Intensive lobby training will focus around introducing and reinforcing general lobbying skills as well as talking points for lobbying on behalf of whistleblower rights

Training Led by: Larry Ottinger President, Center for Lobbying in the Public Interest (CLPI)

Appearances by: Tom Devine Legal Director, GAP

Gordon Hamel Former Congressional Staffer and Federal Whistleblower

Project On Government Oversight - Meet the New Appointments Reception (5:00pm-7:00pm)

Stewart R. Mott House (Catering provided by: Green Plate Catering)

Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB) Chairwoman Susan Grundmann, Vice Chairwoman Anne Wagner and Member Mary Rose Administrative Review Board (ARB) Chairman Paul Igasaki and Vice Chairman Cooper Brown Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Assistant Secretary Dr. David Michaels

Tuesday May 25, 2010

Opening Remarks/ Light Breakfast (9:30am-10:00am) Stewart R. Mott House

(Catering Provided by: Green Plate Catering)

Lobbying on the Hill* (10:30am-3:30pm) Congressional Offices Closing Reception (3:30pm-5:00pm)

Stewart R. Mott House (Catering provided by: Green Plate Catering)

Closing Speaker: Daniel Ellsberg, former U.S. Military Analyst and Pentagon Papers Whistleblower

Introduction by: Louis Clark President, Government Accountability Project

*If you are interested in lobbying on Tuesday, we encourage you to make lobbying appointments with your congressional representative as soon as possible.

The National Whistleblower Assembly is open to the public and free of charge. Please RSVP to Becky Jones at GAP: HSupportWhistleblowers@gmail.comH or (202) 457-0034 ext. 127. The Capitol Visitors Center is located at E Capitol St NE & 1st St NE. The Stewart R. Mott House is located at 122 Maryland Ave NE. Updated conference information can be found here or at

Rate It | View Ratings

James Murtagh Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

James J. Murtagh, Jr. is a doctor of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine, and the Medical Director of several sleep laboratories in Southern Ohio. Dr. Murtagh extensively writes on medical ethics. Dr. Murtagh is the founder of a new (more...)
Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines

Contact EditorContact Editor
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEd News Newsletter
   (Opens new browser window)

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Why Sister Aloysius "Doubts"

Sarah Palin is the Ultimate RINO

Patients and Doctors Demand Integrity in Medicine!

Sarah Palin is National Traitor

Should al-Qaeda have the right to bear arms?

To View Comments or Join the Conversation:

Tell A Friend