Power of Story Send a Tweet        
- Advertisement -

Share on Google Plus Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on PInterest Share on Fark! Share on Reddit Share on StumbleUpon Tell A Friend 1 (1 Shares)  

Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite View Favorites (# of views)   15 comments
OpEdNews Op Eds

If you like sending cash through the mail, you'll LOVE vote by mail!

By       Message Paul Lehto       (Page 1 of 1 pages)     Permalink

Related Topic(s): ; ; ; , Add Tags  Add to My Group(s)

Must Read 3   Well Said 1   Interesting 1  
View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com Headlined to H3 12/17/08

Author 2492
- Advertisement -
I hope the line "If you like sending cash through the mail, you'll LOVE vote by mail!" becomes a rallying call to defeat the total privatization of voting that IS what vote by mail constitutes.  It's bad enough that we have privatized secret vote counting on corporate computers....

Snopes has a new article up, complete with video by a postal inspector, that helps support this point. While it is not illegal to send cash through the mail, the postal inspector who has busted postal employees for stealing cash from the mail says you should never send cash through the mail. He cites one case where there was only a small handful of complaints but the postal employee had stolen over hundred cards with cash in them.

  See the video near the bottom of this link:
  http://www.snopes.com/legal/postal/sendcash.asp

To add injury to injury and insult, a 2004 Oregon study (which has
100% vote by mail) showed that one half one percent of people
specifically reported that their vote or votes changed as a result of
pressure from someone nearby when they were voting.  This is the
clearest possible evidence of 1/2 of one percent rate of election
fraud.  THe problem will only get worse as more people catch on to the
problem and as the system spreads to jurisdictions with more of a
history of political shenanigans like Florida and Ohio.

- Advertisement -
Vote by mail ends the secret ballot, results in actual votes being
changed through pressure and intimidation, is nothing less than the
complete privatization of what is supposed to be a public process, and
then ballots sit around for a long time for things to happen to them
like getting "lost" altered, or damaged.

If you like sending cash through the mail, you'll love vote by mail.

 

- Advertisement -

Must Read 3   Well Said 1   Interesting 1  
View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com

Paul Lehto practiced law in Washington State for 12 years in business law and consumer fraud, including most recently several years in election law, and is now a clean elections advocate. His forthcoming book is tentatively titled DEFENDING (more...)
 

Share on Google Plus Submit to Twitter Add this Page to Facebook! Share on LinkedIn Pin It! Add this Page to Fark! Submit to Reddit Submit to Stumble Upon Share Author on Social Media   Go To Commenting

The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
- Advertisement -

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Germany bans computerized voting; will hand count in 2009

GOP Voter Reg Fraud EXPANDS to OUTRIGHT Document Forgery

Cuyahoga County Ohio Elections Official Condones Felony Presidential Recount Rigging

Why all California's electronic voting systems should be decertified

"Insulating Main Street from Wall Street" Means America's Keys in Wall Street's Pocket

Defending the Freedoms of July 4, 1776: America's Hope for the World