Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Share on Facebook 11 Share on Twitter Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
General News   

Aung San Suu Kyi wins the Freedom of Dundee

By       (Page 1 of 2 pages)   5 comments
Become a Premium Member Would you like to know how many people have read this article? Or how reputable the author is? Simply sign up for a Advocate premium membership and you'll automatically see this data on every article. Plus a lot more, too.


(Image by Unknown Owner)   Details   DMCA

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi is one of the world's most renowned freedom fighters and winner of most numerous international awards.  The Dundee City Council of Scotland honored her with the award "Freedom of Dundee" for her courageous struggle to restore democracy in Burma.  Ms. Anna Roberts, the director of the Burma Campaign United Kingdom, received the award on behalf of Aung San Suu Kyi in a ceremony on Wednesday night.  This is the third award for her this year.

She has won numerous international awards, including the Nobel Peace Prize, Sakharov Prize from the European Parliament, United States Presidential Medal of Freedom, and Jawaharlal Nehru Award from India. However, she has been unable to physically receive the vast majority of these awards due to the fact that she has been under house arrest since 1988.

The list of Awards won by Aung San Suu Kyi are:

Honorary Fellow. St. Hugh's College
Oxford, UK
Thorolf Rafto Award for Human Rights

Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought
European Parliament
Nobel Peace Prize
Oslo, Norway
Honorary Member, International PEN
Norwegian Center
Humanities Human Rights Award
Honorary Member. International PEN
Canadian Center

Marisa Bellisario Prize
Annual Award of the International
Human Rights Law Group

Honorary President, Students' Union London
School of Economics and Political Science

Honorary Member, International PEN
English Centre
Honorary Life Member,
University of London Union

Honorary Professional Fellowship,
Law and Society Trust

Sri Lanka
Honorary Doctorate in Political Science,
Thammasat University

International Simòn Bolívar Prize
Prix Litteraire des Droits de l'Homme
Nouveaux Droits de l'Homme
Honorary Member, World Commission
on Culture and Development


Member, Académie Universelle des Cultures
Rose Prize
Arbejderbevaegelsens Internationale Forum / International Forum of the Danish Labour Movement, Copenhagen
Premio Mujer Progresista
Federacion Mujeres Progresistas / Spanish Federation of Progressive Women, Madrid
Victor Jara International Human Rights Award
Center for Human Rights and Constitutional Law,
Los Angeles, USA

Member of the Advisory Board, François-Xavier Bagnoud Center for Health and Human Rights, Havard University
Honorary Doctorate of Law, University of Toronto
The Freedom of the City, Commune of Giugliano
Bremen Solidarity Prize
City of Bremen, Germany

Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy and Letters,
Free University of Brussels

Honorary Adviser, Forum of
Democratic Leaders in the Asia-Pacific

Seoul, Republic of Korea

The Freedom of the City, Aversa
Liberal International Prize for Freedom
Honorary Doctorate of Laws, Queen's University
Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding
(for 1993)
Gandhi Award, Simon Fraser University
Canada (October)
Honorary Doctorate of Civil Law, University of Oxford
Freedom Award of the International Rescue Committee
USA (November 21)

Rajiv Smriti Puraskar (Rajiv Gandhi Memorial Award) -
Art & Culture Foundation of India

NGO (August)
Honorary Companion of the Order of Australia Award
Australia (May)
W. Averell Harriman Democracy Award
National Democratic Institute (August)
Empty Chair Award, Women of the Year Lunch, London

Honorary Doctorate, Charles University Faculty of Law
Honorary Doctorate of Laws, American University
Washington, DC. (January)
Distinguished Alumni Award,
Central University / Delhi University
Honorary Doctorate, University of Natal
South Africa (April)
Honorary Doctorate, Chapman University
Orange County, CA (May)
Honorary Citizenship of Rome
Italy (May 23)
Honorary Doctorate of Letters, Glasgow University
Honorary Doctorate of Letters,
University of Technology, Sydney

Pearl S. Buck Woman's Award, Pearl S. Buck Foundation
International Award, St. Angela's Peace
and Justice Group, Waterford

Profiles in Courage Award, Kennedy Society of Denmark

Honorary Doctorate, Cambridge University
UK (June)
Honorary Doctorate of Laws, University of Wales, Cardiff
Honorary Doctorate of Laws, University of Bristol
Honorary Doctorate of Laws, University of Melbourne

Honorary Degree, University of Bath
UK (December)

Honorary Degree, Bucknell University
USA (May)
Freedom Award, International Republican Institute
Washington, D.C. (October)

Dublin Freedom Award
Dublin (March)
United States Presidential Medal of Freedom

Free Spirit Award, Freedom Forum

Next Page  1  |  2

(Note: You can view every article as one long page if you sign up as an Advocate Member, or higher).


Rate It | View Ratings

ashin mettacara Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

Ashin Mettacara is a 27-year-old Buddhist monk from Burma who is blogging and contributing with the aim of spreading news to the whole world about the crisis in Burma. He is not part of any political group, association or organization. He is (more...)
Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
   (Opens new browser window)

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Buddhism: Vesak Fesival or Buddha Birthday

Myanmar: What is the 8888 demonstration and what was General Ne Win's reaction?

Burma: Suu Kyi shows no to UN envoy

Aung San Suu Kyi wins the Freedom of Dundee

The Full Moon Day of Thadingyut or Lighting Festival of Burma

Myanmar : DVB website attacked by pro-military hacker

To View Comments or Join the Conversation: