Share on Google Plus Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on PInterest Share on Fark! Share on Reddit Share on StumbleUpon Tell A Friend 2 (2 Shares)  
Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite View Favorites (# of views)   15 comments

Sci Tech

Light is at absolute rest, and science isn't interested

By       Message Jim Arnold     Permalink
      (Page 1 of 7 pages)
Related Topic(s): ; ; ; , Add Tags Add to My Group(s)

View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com

Author 6322
Become a Fan
  (27 fans)
- Advertisement -

Light seems sometimes to act like a wave, sometimes like a particle. This seemingly nonsensical behavior has been accepted for so long, and entire careers devoted to it, so much so, that a hypothesis which would explain light's peculiarities, and resolve its apparent duality, is evidently unwelcome among physical scientists - even in violation of their most fundamental principles.

A guiding principle of science specifies that the worthiness of a theory or hypothesis should be judged by its conformity to evidence, and by its comprehensiveness and economy of explanation, all measured against other theories with the same object. But the hypothesis I've offered to numerous physics journals hasn't been explicitly criticized or refuted according to those standards, it's simply been rejected as "unsuitable."

The unsuitability of a hypothesis should be easy to identify and express, if the unsuitability is grounded in defensible principles. I'll paste my paper below, a fairly non-technical discussion, in the hope that it can be evaluated and criticized for its scientific value, rather than, as I suspect has happened, dismissed for its non-conformity to established commitments.

A hypothesis on the nature of light


Abstract

- Advertisement -

It is proposed that light is at absolute rest, its apparent motion being the reflection of the motion of mass in time. The hypothesis resolves the paradox of the apparent wave/particle duality of light, accounts for its speed being invariant and a limit, explains other peculiarities of its behavior, and identifies the source of gravitational energy.


Introduction

- Advertisement -

Light is currently regarded as in some ways wavelike, in some ways particle-like, invariant in speed, the limit of speed, and having various strange non-local effects. Einstein's suggestion (1905) that light be accepted as both wavelike and particulate, pending an intelligible resolution of the evidence, has become an abiding commitment to paradox as quantum theory has expanded the range of the counter-intuitive to encompass much of theoretical physics. Nonetheless, the value of the fundamental scientific preference for simplicity of description, explanatory power, and logical coherence remains, in principle, as desirable as ever. However much science is now accommodated to the paradoxical features of light, a theory that would obviate a need for strange compromise is always to be preferred by scientific standards.

The idea that light might be at absolute rest seems no doubt a very odd and unlikely remedy at first impression, but I hope to justify it here by an appeal to the explanatory power by which it may be judged superior to the conventional view.

A Heuristic Graphic

Next Page  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7

 

- Advertisement -

View Ratings | Rate It

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.




Share on Google Plus Submit to Twitter Add this Page to Facebook! Share on LinkedIn Pin It! Add this Page to Fark! Submit to Reddit Submit to Stumble Upon


Go To Commenting

The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
- Advertisement -

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy

Tell a Friend: Tell A Friend

 
- Advertisements -

Microsoft Office 365 Project by Apps4Rent to colloborate and manage projects from virtually anywhere, is a proud sponsor of Opednews.com: Office 365 Project

 

Copyright © 2002-2016, OpEdNews

Powered by Populum