Share on Google Plus Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on PInterest Share on Fark! Share on Reddit Share on StumbleUpon Tell A Friend 2 (2 Shares)  

Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite View Favorites (# of views)   2 comments
Exclusive to OpEdNews:
Life Arts

The 13th Zodiac-- Ophiuchus

By       Message DR RAKESH KUMAR     Permalink
      (Page 1 of 2 pages)
Related Topic(s): ; ; ; ; ; ; ; , Add Tags Add to My Group(s)

View Ratings | Rate It Headlined to H4 1/17/11

- Advertisement -

The 13th Zodiac -" Ophiuchus

Dear friends,

- Advertisement -

The media and news are flying with the latest buzz about the discovery of the 13th Zodiac sign, named "Ophiuchus" People around the world are puzzled and disturbed at their Zodiac signs being different now. I therefore wish to clarify this ambiguity so that people may understand the truth about the Zodiac signs.

I had previously written many newsletters and spoke on the WBAI radio about the difference of the Western and the Eastern Zodiacs for people to understand the true Astrological significance of the Zodiacs, the planets and constellations.

Before I explain in details, let me first put to rest the new raging controversy.

= No, there is no 13th Zodiac =

- Advertisement -

BUT, your Zodiac Sun sign is not correct either!!!

Confused again? So now let me explain.

Vedic Astrology was formulated by the ancient Hindu enlightened saints more than 5000 years ago. They were men of wisdom and knew the secrets of creation. The ancient seers had way back then written about the precession of the equinoxes, and has established that stars were fixed objects in the skies. The Zodiac they calculated was from the 1st star on the belt of Aries. They determined that there were 27 astrological constellations, which spread over the Zodiac belt, covering 360 degrees. They also determined that there were 9 planets, which were of Astrological significance which have cosmic energies and which are influencing the earth, including every human being. Thus, each planet controls 3 constellations, making the figure -" 9X3 = 27. Each constellation has a Zodiac belt covering 13.3333 degrees, which multiplied by 27 makes 359.999 degrees = 360.

Thus every sign of the Zodiac was calculated from one star to another, until it covered 360 degrees. Twelve Zodiac divisions were made, each amounting to almost 30 degrees each.

The Hindu Astrologers also mentioned about 2 shadowy planets called Rahu and Ketu. These two are not planets in mass, but have been given the ranks of planets due to their great influence on Earth. Rahu and Ketu are always opposite each other, and are therefore 180 degrees apart. They always move retrograde, compared tp direct motion of the other planets. Thus the 9 planets include Rahu and Ketu. The Vedic Astrology system does not include Uranus, Neptune and Pluto in their list of planets in our solar system because these extra Saturnian planets transit one Zodiac sign in about 30 years, and would move only 3 Zodiac signs in a man's lifetime. So these are not Astrologically significant, at least not for human lives.

The permutation and combination of 9 planets, 27 constellations and 12 Zodiac signs are the basis of calculation of a birth chart. In the Vedic Astrology system, there are up to 60 divisional charts, called the fine tuning charts, which are focussed on specific areas of our lives, for example, career, children, marriage etc. These divisional charts give more precision to the readings. There is always a major period of a planet in operation, the sub period and the inter sub period of other planets in force. The major, sub and inter sub period of 3 different planets vary in their duration. For example, the major period of Saturn is for 19 years. The major period of Sun is for 6 years, for Jupiter it is 16 years and so on.

- Advertisement -

Now about the dispute of the Zodiac signs. As I mentioned earlier, the ancient Hindu Vedic Astrologers had calculated the precession of the equinoxes, a phenomenon which makes the Earth "tilt' backwards. They also calculated and established the "obliquity of the ecliptic'. There is a celestial equator, and the ecliptic. The celestial equator is the great circle of the celestial sphere, in which the Earth's equator cuts into. The ecliptic is the arc, along which the Sun moves in the skies. The angle at which the ecliptic cuts the celestial sphere is 23 degrees and 26 minutes. Where it cuts on the north side is called the first point of Aries, and the soutern point of cut is called the first point of Libra.

Now these points are relative and keep changing. Because of the precession of the equinoxes, these points of Zodiac have been moving backwards @ 50.3 seconds every year. Consequently, there is a difference of about 22 degrees between the Eastern and the western Zodiacs.

The Hindu Vedic Astrologers calculated the Zodiac signs from stars, which are fixed in the universe. They also applied the corrections for the precession of the equinoxes and other mathemtical corrections. The ancient Hindu Vedic Astronomical calculations were most precise and accurate.

Next Page  1  |  2


- Advertisement -

View Ratings | Rate It
Dr. Rakesh Kumar (PHD) is a doctor of Vedic Sciences. He is the founder and chairman of a non-profit spiritual organization called "ISHWAR". Dr. Kumar is a renowned Vedic Astrologer, with more than 23 years experience. Appart from his very (more...)

Share on Google Plus Submit to Twitter Add this Page to Facebook! Share on LinkedIn Pin It! Add this Page to Fark! Submit to Reddit Submit to Stumble Upon

Go To Commenting
/* The Petition Site */
The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
- Advertisement -

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Predictions for 2014

Solar eclipse on July 11th 2010 - astrologic dangers portended

Astrological Predictions for 2011 - by Dr Rakesh Kumar

The End of Kali Yuga, The Dark Age

The 13th Zodiac-- Ophiuchus

An Astrological analysis of Michael Jackson-the man, the legend.