Send a Tweet
Most Popular Choices
Poll Analyses
Share on Facebook 17 Share on Twitter Printer Friendly Page More Sharing
Exclusive to OpEdNews:
Sci Tech    H4'ed 2/9/16

Do Physicists Love Their Paradoxes Too Much?

By       (Page 4 of 5 pages) Become a premium member to see this article and all articles as one long page. (View How Many People Read This)   8 comments
Author 6322
Message Jim Arnold
Become a Fan
  (26 fans)

The unavoidable spatial imperfections of figure 3 aside, what is important for understanding the relationship between the twins' clocks is that their relative time-frames are accurately represented, consistent with the temporal expression of the Lorentz transformations. The twins' clocks are not simultaneous except at the beginning and end of their relative motion, but they are correlative at every moment in between, in alignment along Twin A's space axis (x), as for example when the distance from A's x-axis to Twin B's position in spacetime is at the 3 yr mark, A's clock is likewise 3 yr away from its original point in time on its space-axis. Therefore, regardless of the periods and velocities in uniform relative motion during the twins' separation, their clocks for such periods will necessarily remain correlative, and will be synchronous at their reunion, when they again share the original space axis.

Given the inherent spatial distortion in figure 3, it may be helpful to consider a rotate-able, although physically impossible perspective on the twins' relative motion, one that can transcend the limitation of a realistic single reference frame as with figure 3.

Figure 4 takes an unnatural but more comprehensible perspective as of a demiurge, or if it is preferred, a God's-Eye view of the spatial relationship between the twins, illustrating that except when Twin B is accelerating, one twin isn't at rest while the other is in motion; both are at once relatively at-rest and relatively in-motion.

.

.


(Image by Jim Arnold)   Details   DMCA

figure 4

A composite and transcendent perspective on the twins' adventure
provides a comprehensible but unnatural representation of the
un-accelerated portions of their mutual separation and
reconvergence. The lengths of their world-lines are equal, as are
the durations of their clocks.

The illustration of uniform motion in figure 4 balances the to-and-from segments for the sake of clarity, but the periods of uniform motion in each direction needn't be equal for the final reckoning of clocks to be in agreement. Given the correlative relationship between clocks discussed above, the convergent vectors can have a different length than the divergent vectors. And there needn't be any uniform motion at all in one direction for concurrency to be maintained; such a situation can be envisioned as involving only one period of uniform motion, using one pair of the vectors in figure 4 -- vectors A1 and B1 or vectors A2 and B2. In each case, no matter how long or how relatively fast their uniform motion in either direction, there is always a correlation between clocks.

Conclusion

The "Twin Effect" has been shown to be entirely explicable in terms of Relativity Theory, and supported by the principle of correlative clocks entailed by relative motion. The confirmed effects of acceleration are neither complicated nor in any way affected by intermittent periods of uniform motion in space due to the correlation of uniform motion in time.

References

Arnold J; "Time as the Dynamic Aspect of the Continuum", ESJ, Vol 11, No 9, 2015.

Botermann B, et al; "Test of Time Dilation Using Stored Li+ Ions as Clocks at Relativistic Speed", Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 120405, 2014

Einstein A; Zur Elektrodynamik bewegter K├Ârper ("On the electrodynamics of moving bodies"), Annalen der Physik 17, 1, 1905, pp. 904-905

Next Page  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5

 

Interesting 3   Well Said 2   Valuable 2  
Rate It | View Ratings

Jim Arnold Social Media Pages: Facebook page url on login Profile not filled in       Twitter page url on login Profile not filled in       Linkedin page url on login Profile not filled in       Instagram page url on login Profile not filled in

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.



Go To Commenting
The views expressed herein are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.
Writers Guidelines
Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
Support OpEdNews

OpEdNews depends upon can't survive without your help.

If you value this article and the work of OpEdNews, please either Donate or Purchase a premium membership.

STAY IN THE KNOW
If you've enjoyed this, sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to get lots of great progressive content.
Daily Weekly     OpEdNews Newsletter
Name
Email
   (Opens new browser window)
 

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy

To View Comments or Join the Conversation: