Add this Page to Facebook!   Submit to Twitter   Submit to Reddit   Submit to Stumble Upon   Pin It!   Fark It!   Tell A Friend  
Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite Save As Favorite View Article Stats
4 comments

Exclusive to OpEdNews:
OpEdNews Op Eds

The Essence of Faggotry

By (about the author)     Permalink       (Page 1 of 1 pages)
Related Topic(s): ; ; ; , Add Tags Add to My Group(s)

View Ratings | Rate It


Become a Fan
  (12 fans)

opednews.com

I was a hetero adolescent. I’m still a hetero, and in some ways, I’m afraid, I’m still a bit of an adolescent. But this isn’t about me. It’s about faggotry.

My own relationship with that most powerful, evocative word goes back to my early teens, when my buddies and I first experienced a visceral reaction to all its deviations - fag, f*ggot, and faggotry - and the awful behavior (to us) they insinuated. I was swept to the gut with revulsion at the idea that someone male would have a leering lust for my penis. The idea seemed utterly devoid of dignity and taste. Depraved, despicable.

It didn’t occur to me that my own pubescent lust for girls and their private parts was no less obsessive, no less wanton than the gay orientation. That insight came to me when I was few years older, when as a low-grade Marine, hitchhiking up and down the East Coast on weekends and often sleeping in bus stations, I frequently experienced the other side of unwanted advances from men. As if seeing myself in reflection, I realized I was, in essence, just a f*g for girls. Thereafter, fortunately I think, I developed an impediment in my own hetero version of sex-faggotry.

But I digress.

The etymology of faggotry, the conceptual seed, or sperm (if I may), as it was first inserted in our verbal intercourse, is something more base, existential, and not necessarily sexual. Some words just sound like they were made to express a thing or attribute. The word stink just sounds like a bad smell. The word f*g has come down to us from the distant past, and I think we feel it deep-down somehow. Unless we're English, it seems to epitomize human self-degradation in general, perversion forsaking virtue, for which sexual depravity is only an instance, and homosexuality only a diversionary target.

Homosexuals are, I think, no more, no less ignoble than heteros. Actually, in my own experience, they seem on the whole somewhat more dignified and sensitive than heteros. No, faggotry describes something more primal, a more fundamental flaw of character than any particular sexual preoccupation.

I’m struck most of all by the prevalence of actual faggotry in politics, and in the world of intrigue among political hangers-on. If anyone is a f*g, it would have to be Ann Coulter. Consider her depraved obsession with wealth and notoriety at the expense of everything dignified, true, and good: It’s faggotry, in the best sense of the word.

I’m not into name-calling. We might say someone is a philanthropist, not to call her a name (however nice), not just because she spends a lot of time and money on charitable or desperate causes, but because it’s her essential orientation in life. It defines her guiding light as a person. In just the same way, Rush Limbaugh is a f*g – not because he may have a special thing for young Dominican boys, but because of his slathering, debauched, degenerate dedication to spreading misdirection and misinformation for the sake of wealth, and for adulation from functional morons. The right-wing punditry, even the mainstream media, are abounding with fags. Bill O’Reilly, Melanie Morgan, Brit Hume, George Will: f*ggots all. Stand-up politicians who sacrifice the general welfare, and even lay waste to lives by the thousands, in slavish submission to greed and power-lust  – now that’s faggotry. George Bush? It goes without saying. Dick Cheney? Well, what word could capture his especially venal, uniquely cheneyesque sort of faggotry? I haven’t discovered it yet. Karl Rove. Never mind his rumored affection for male prostitutes. Oh, Mitch McConnell is a definite f*g. He may even be gay. Orin Hatch? I think so – yes and yes. Bill Frist? Oh, yeah! Newt Gingrich? Don’t get me going. The Republican presidential candidates? What’s the word for a group of fags standing together onstage? A gaggle? A faggle? These are not philanthropists. No, these are fags. And the list could go on and on. Some Democrats could qualify of course, though not, I think, so quintessentially. I frankly don’t get the f*g-reference Coulter recently made about John Edwards. He seems like a gentleman, and a typically hetero sort of family man. Maybe she has trouble comprehending gentility.

The word f*g is uniquely powerful and highly evocative. We should take up Coulter’s inspiration and proclaim the essential-existential meaning the word actually expresses. We should identify, we should out true fags in their pride of faggotry. By the process of elimination, gays and lesbians, with normal, virtuous aspirations in life, could be discriminated and liberated from that most sordid identification.

A committed philanthropist deserves the epitaph philanthropist, in recognition of her life’s work and calling.  A loving mother, a nice man, a good neighbor, an athlete, an artist, a musician, a scientist, a philosopher  – these are defining dedications, titles of recognition. A dedicated f*g deserves no less popular recognition, no less personal attention.

 

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.




Add this Page to Facebook!   Submit to Twitter   Submit to Reddit   Submit to Stumble Upon   Pin It!   Fark It!   Tell A Friend
The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact Author Contact Editor View Authors' Articles

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Gravitation, force and energy

Light is at absolute rest, and science isn't interested

Comments

The time limit for entering new comments on this article has expired.

This limit can be removed. Our paid membership program is designed to give you many benefits, such as removing this time limit. To learn more, please click here.

Comments: Expand   Shrink   Hide  
3 people are discussing this page, with 4 comments
To view all comments:
Expand Comments
(Or you can set your preferences to show all comments, always)

Consider yourself lucky I found more than one amus... by Pappy on Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 3:14:05 AM
Pappy,Thanks for allowing me the temporary license... by Jim Arnold on Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:35:16 AM
...but even so, words are only words. Somewhere be... by Pappy on Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 2:14:29 PM
I would have found this more entertaining if you w... by jwharton on Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 1:19:23 AM