Add this Page to Facebook!   Submit to Twitter   Submit to Reddit   Submit to Stumble Upon   Pin It!   Fark It!   Tell A Friend  
Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite Save As Favorite View Article Stats
3 comments

OpEdNews Op Eds

Illegal Immigration: Left and right or top and bottom?

By (about the author)     Permalink       (Page 1 of 1 pages)
Related Topic(s): , Add Tags Add to My Group(s)

View Ratings | Rate It

Become a Fan
  (18 fans)

opednews.com

The influx of illegal immigrants costs Americans their jobs and drives down their wages and salaries; the legalization of illegal immigrants will expand and institutionalize that trend. It’s that simple. The focus and discussion of every other aspect of the issue, to borrow a phrase from Lincoln, is just an intrigue.

The array of forces on each side of the immigration issue is not so simple. On the left there is a largely unspoken cleavage between the liberal elite and the people who work for a living. Union hierarchies see a potential expansion of dues collections. The Democratic Party leadership sees a potential expansion of votes. But the American working class, to the extent that they are conscious of the impact on their living standards, uncontaminated by racism and nationalism, see clearly the real negative prospects of the push for legalization.

On the right there’s a cleavage between the interests of employers enjoying cheap labor and a racist, nativist base. This is just another example of how the Grand Old Coalition doesn’t work so well outside morals legislation.

Hence the embarrassing assortment of bedfellows. Those with something to gain, left and right, against those with something to lose, left and right.

So what’s the solution, for progressives whose interests in living standards trump the collection of dues and votes? Advocate and enforce the existing laws against hiring illegals. Fine and/or jail the employers. Most illegals will go home and help solve the problems there that have driven them here.

All else is intrigue.

 

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.




Add this Page to Facebook!   Submit to Twitter   Submit to Reddit   Submit to Stumble Upon   Pin It!   Fark It!   Tell A Friend
The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact Author Contact Editor View Authors' Articles
Related Topic(s): , Add Tags

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Gravitation, force and energy

Light is at absolute rest, and science isn't interested

Comments

The time limit for entering new comments on this article has expired.

This limit can be removed. Our paid membership program is designed to give you many benefits, such as removing this time limit. To learn more, please click here.

Comments: Expand   Shrink   Hide  
3 people are discussing this page, with 3 comments
To view all comments:
Expand Comments
(Or you can set your preferences to show all comments, always)
and help solve the problems there that have driven... by Samuel Bryan on Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 1:44:01 PM
I agree.... by Jim Arnold on Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 2:06:37 PM
There is a vast, unacknowledged gulf regarding ill... by Cameron Salisbury on Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 9:34:28 AM