U.S. a holdout on Nuclear Test Ban Treaty

Quicklink submitted by Amanda Lang     Permalink
Related Topic(s): , Add Tags

View Ratings | Rate It


Become a Fan
  (9 fans)

At www.truthout.org

The treaty cannot come into force until it is ratified by the required 44 states which had nuclear research or power facilities when it was adopted in 1996. Only 33 have done so. The United States, the world's leading nuclear power, Colombia, Egypt, Indonesia, China, Iran, Israel and Vietnam are among the remaining 11 countries that have not ratified the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty. Diplomats fear that unless key countries like the United States and China come into the fold, the treaty may well collapse.

Read the rest of the story HERE:

At www.truthout.org



The time limit for entering new comments on this Quicklink has expired.

This limit can be removed. Our paid membership program is designed to give you many benefits, such as removing this time limit. To learn more, please click here.

Comments: Expand   Shrink   Hide  
No comments