OpEdNews Op Eds

Conflicts of interests

By       Message Jim Arnold     Permalink
      (Page 1 of 1 pages)
Related Topic(s): ; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; (more...) ; , Add Tags  (less...) Add to My Group(s)

View Ratings | Rate It

opednews.com

Author 6322
Become a Fan
  (27 fans)
- Advertisement -

The Democrats are pursuing a people-based strategy of fund-raising by refusing donations from lobbyists and PACs while pursuing a corporate-based strategy of Congressional voting and Presidential campaign jockeying. It's boundless: The chronic stupidity of a party leadership conflicted by soft, liberal intentions and hard, conservative (wealth and power) interests.

The American people, those sufficiently clear-headed and informed to understand their own interests, are forced into a conflict of impulses by the ambivalence of their political leaders. Vote third-party or not vote at all, and risk a grosser of two evils? Continue to support a party that's going nowhere out of fear of a party that's taking us down?

I've decided on my course: I'm going to follow my stomach, and refuse any further donations or volunteering to any but stalwart progressive candidates "" most definitely not to the national congressional or presidential campaigns "" until the Leadership really wows me. I hope they can, somehow. But it's hard to imagine. Impeachment hearings? Protecting and defending the Constitution? Concrete action to prevent an attack on Iran? A truly progressive campaign strategy by Obama? I can wait, I can sit on my wallet.

I'll vote Democratic in November in any case, but someone in the Lofty Leadership is going to have to work a little harder, and give a little more, to pick up my slack.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

 

- Advertisement -

View Ratings | Rate It

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.




Share on Google Plus Submit to Twitter Add this Page to Facebook! Share on LinkedIn Pin It! Add this Page to Fark! Submit to Reddit Submit to Stumble Upon


Go To Commenting

The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
- Advertisement -

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy