Share on Google Plus Share on Twitter Share on Facebook 1 Share on LinkedIn Share on PInterest Share on Fark! Share on Reddit Share on StumbleUpon Tell A Friend 1 (2 Shares)  
Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite View Favorites (# of views)   8 comments

Exclusive to OpEdNews:
OpEdNews Op Eds

We need to organize -- NOW!

By       Message Jim Arnold     Permalink
      (Page 2 of 2 pages) Become a premium member to see this article as one long page.
Related Topic(s): ; ; ; ; ; ; , Add Tags Add to My Group(s)

Must Read 1   Well Said 1   Valuable 1  
View Ratings | Rate It Headlined to H3 4/9/14

Author 6322
Become a Fan
  (27 fans)
- Advertisement -

At minimum, even if it collapses in failure, it can be a worthwhile experience, an exercise in political interaction, empowerment, and leadership.

Let's try it. Let's do it NOW.

Here's my proposal: anyone interested in getting involved in building an inter-personal, close-knit democratic organization can contact me at OpEdNews on my profile page, or comment in response to this article. 

Give me your name, email address, county, state, and zip code, and I'll organize everyone into groups by proximity, and put everyone in each group in contact. (If you feel that giving me that information is objectionable, suggest an alternative person or organization to handle the initial organizing.)

Once group representatives are chosen, the entire membership list can be turned over to whomever they authorize as custodians.

Why not just do it?

- Advertisement -

Democracy is about free, creative, contributing people -- not leaders, and not followers. For the experience of being a significant member of a democratic group, for the experience of being a coordinator and/or representative, maybe for the experience of building a movement, let's give it a try.

These times are desperate. We've got to get together, we've got to interconnect, we've got to organize -- NOW!

- Advertisement -

Next Page  1  |  2


- Advertisement -

Must Read 1   Well Said 1   Valuable 1  
View Ratings | Rate It

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.

Share on Google Plus Submit to Twitter Add this Page to Facebook! Share on LinkedIn Pin It! Add this Page to Fark! Submit to Reddit Submit to Stumble Upon

Go To Commenting

The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact AuthorContact Author Contact EditorContact Editor Author PageView Authors' Articles
- Advertisement -

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Is theoretical physics dead-ending?

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Gravitation, force and energy