Add this Page to Facebook!   Submit to Twitter   Submit to Reddit   Submit to Stumble Upon   Pin It!   Fark It!   Tell A Friend  
Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite Save As Favorite View Article Stats
6 comments

Exclusive to OpEdNews:
OpEdNews Op Eds

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

By (about the author)     Permalink       (Page 2 of 2 pages)
Related Topic(s): ; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; , Add Tags Add to My Group(s)

Must Read 1   Interesting 1   Valuable 1  
View Ratings | Rate It


Become a Fan
  (12 fans)

opednews.com

Thus Richard Helms, the rogue Deputy in the CIA, would be promoted to Director. Allen Dulles, the CIA director fired by JFK after the Bay of Pigs would be the heavy hand on the Warren Commission. The Old Establishment had to reconcile themselves to LBJ's right of succession, and to a Presidency now answerable to both factions. For his part LBJ had to accept much of the Old Administration bequeathed to him, with the notable exception of RFK. Some members of the Mafia and the Exile Community would have to be eliminated as untrustworthy or beyond redemption, but for the rest it would be business like usual. Other minor and regional allies of the Old and New, including the media and the politicians who come and go, remained as before, loose factions of Democrats and Republicans. Meanwhile, representatives of the New would be restored (Nixon) or groomed (Goldwater, Reagan, and Bush the Senior) for the new opportunities.

Ultimate Sacrifice is a good and worthwhile historical reference, as far as it goes. But beyond the authors' (Waldron's?) rather romantic vision of our government, there are troubling indications of an illiberal bias. They (Waldron?) conclude with a sympathetic recognition of the Cuban "exiles who risked their lives for a cause they believed in" (p786). Many if not most of the Exiles were intent on restoring the oppressive Mafia/US corporate haven that was pre-Castro Cuba. That's certainly a cause, and no doubt they believed in it, but it's perplexing that Thom Hartmann would lend his name to such a laudatory acknowledgment. Much of the secrecy surrounding JFK's assassination is said to have "a legitimate basis in national security" (p17), but if the basis is not just protection of the guilty and/or the moot plan for international subversion, we're left to our own imaginations of what it might be.

The conspirators in the assassination of JFK, the insurgents, the New Establishment then and now, have little regard for the Constitution, and the rule of law in general - much less than their abiding adversaries, the Old Establishment. To lay exclusive blame for the JFK assassination on relatively minor operatives is to obfuscate what may be the most crucial problem of our time, the rise of a lawless ruling elite. The Kennedy assassination is still relevant as the foothold in power for those elements, and no thanks to Ultimate Sacrifice, the full disclosure of who conspired, and who has benefited, remains to be done.

There are no "legitimate national security" issues for secrecy from the JFK assassination in 1963. The acknowledgment of the culpability of members of our government, and the release of all related classified information is in our national interest, and the real legitimate basis for our national security.

Next Page  1  |  2

 

A former visitant of UC Santa Cruz, former union boilermaker, ex-Marine, Vietnam vet, anti-war activist, dilettante in science with an earth-shaking theory on the nature of light (which no one will consider), philosopher in the tradition of Schelling, Hegel, Merleau-Ponty, Marx, and Fromm (sigh, no one listens to me on that either), author of a book on wine clubs (ahem), and cast-off programmer of ancient computer languages. I've recently had two physics articles published in an obscure but earnest Central European journal (European Scientific Journal http://www.eujournal.org/index.php/esj) but my main interests remain politics and philosophy.




Add this Page to Facebook!   Submit to Twitter   Submit to Reddit   Submit to Stumble Upon   Pin It!   Fark It!   Tell A Friend
The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website or its editors.

Writers Guidelines

Contact Author Contact Editor View Authors' Articles

Most Popular Articles by this Author:     (View All Most Popular Articles by this Author)

Thom Hartmann's book on the JFK Assassination

Spartan Women: History's greatest conspiracy?

Steven Hawking is wrong on Extraterrestrials

Immigration Policy: the Liberal/Progressive Dichotomy

Gravitation, force and energy

Light is at absolute rest, and science isn't interested

Comments

The time limit for entering new comments on this article has expired.

This limit can be removed. Our paid membership program is designed to give you many benefits, such as removing this time limit. To learn more, please click here.

Comments: Expand   Shrink   Hide  
6 people are discussing this page, with 6 comments
To view all comments:
Expand Comments
(Or you can set your preferences to show all comments, always)

Read "Echoes from Dealey Plaza", by the first blac... by martinweiss on Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:25:18 PM
George Bush Sr. has been shown to have played a cr... by jeannette russell on Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:31:40 PM
It is interesting how the JFK file keeps re-surfac... by Nick van Nes on Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 7:58:27 AM
by Russ Baker, fairly well answered any lingering ... by WML on Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 8:37:43 AM
Is outstanding and due to the subject matter has b... by Ed Encho on Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:44:02 AM
I haven't read Baker's book, and I'm curious wheth... by Jim Arnold on Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:58:47 AM