Share on Google Plus Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on PInterest Share on Fark! Share on Reddit Share on StumbleUpon Tell A Friend 3 (3 Shares)  
Printer Friendly Page Save As Favorite View Favorites View Stats   No comments

Higgs data reveals fundamental structure of matter

Quicklink submitted by Kyle McDermott     Permalink
Related Topic(s): , Add Tags

View Ratings | Rate It Headlined to H4 12/15/12

Become a Fan
  (9 fans)


The 12 matter particles we know about are all the types there are, according to researchers analysing CERN data. Matter particles are the elementary components of the universe, making up everything visible in the universe. 'For a long time, however, it was not clear whether we know all components.' The standard model of particle physics puts the number of fermions at 12 and, based on their properties, they're divided into three generations of four particles each. Only the first generation - the electron, the electron neutrino, the up-quark and the down-quark - is found in any appreciable quantity outside of particle accelerators. Up- and down-quarks form heavier particles, such as protons and neutrons and, from here, all elements of the periodic system. 'But why does nature have second and third generations, if these are hardly needed? And are there maybe more generations of particles?'

Read the rest of the story HERE:




The time limit for entering new comments on this Quicklink has expired.

This limit can be removed. Our paid membership program is designed to give you many benefits, such as removing this time limit. To learn more, please click here.

Comments: Expand   Shrink   Hide  
No comments